New Student Orientation

New Student Orientation is a fun and interactive way to learn about programs of study, academic and student support resources, transferring to a four-year institution, and student life.

New Student Orientation is a program for all students with no prior college or university enrollment (excluding dual enrollment). As a new student, you are required to attend a New Student Orientation session. Orientation sessions are offered at both the Hampton and Historic Triangle campuses. 

Orientation Checklist

  • Complete Thomas Nelson Admissions Application
  • Complete Virginia Placement Test
  • Apply for financial aid or Set-up Tuition Payment Plan
  • Bring a picture I.D.
  • Bring your Virginia Placement Test results and Applicant Information Form
  • Have your Thomas Nelson Student ID number

During Orientation

  • Receive academic advisement
  • Register for classes and obtain class schedule
  • Participate in sessions on navigating the Student Information System (SIS), financial aid/veteran services, tuition payment, and advising
  • Participate in Campus Tour

After Orientation

  • Obtain your parking decal and Student ID card and student parking permit application
  • Pay for your classes
  • Obtain your textbooks
  • Check your student VCCS email account weekly
  • Start classes and have a successful semester!

How to Sign-up

  1. Complete the online Registration Form, select one session only.
  2. Print a copy of your registration form.
  3. Arrive on time to your scheduled registered orientation session. 

Register Online

Fall 2017

Hampton campus
Espada Room, Moore Hall
600 Butler Farm Road
Hampton, VA 23666

  • Tuesday, June 27, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 11, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, July 15, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, July 26, 6 p.m. – 8 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 2, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, August 8, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. 
  • Saturday, August 12, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, August 16, 6 p.m. – 8 p.m.

Historic Triangle campus
Library, Room 100M
4601 Opportunity Way
Williamsburg, VA 23188

  • Wednesday, June 21, 9 .a.m – 1 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 6, 6 .p.m – 8 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 12, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, July 19, 6 p.m. – 8 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 9, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.