Local College Board | Thomas Nelson Community College

Local College Board

Important Message

Public access to Thomas Nelson offices on campuses in Hampton and Williamsburg is restricted until the Commonwealth of Virginia enters Phase 3 of the Governor's Forward Virginia Blueprint. The College's telework environment will continue until further notice.
Fall classes will be offered mostly online with limited hybrid sections in CTE and FastForward programs. Staff are continuing to assist students in a telework environment.  Please monitor the College website and your Thomas Nelson email for important updates. Student services are also available online through MyTNCC. Registration is now open online for summer and fall classes. Visit tncc.edu/emergency-preparedness for more information. Coronavirus (COVID-19) - CDC

05/28/2020 - 10:49am

City of Hampton

  • The Honorable Mary Bunting
  • Mr. Jonathan Romero
  • Dr. Vince Warren
  • Dr. Donna Woods

Newport News

  • Ms. Izabela M. Cieszynski
  • Mr. Michael F. Kuhns
  • Mr. John W. McMillan, Jr.
  • Mr. Augustus Owens

James City County

  • Ms. Mary Ann Maimone
  • Mr. Scott VanVoorhees


  • Mr. Allan Melton

York County

  • Dr. Perry L. Showalter
  • Ms. Elizabeth S. Tai

City of Williamsburg

  • Dr. Joyce M. Jarrett

Board Mission Statement

The mission of the Thomas Nelson Community College Board is to serve as a liaison between the college President, Community, and the Virginia State Board for Community Colleges; and to perform the duties and responsibilities assigned by the Virginia State Board for Community Colleges.

Board Vision Statement

The Thomas Nelson Community College Board will be an advocate within the local and state communities to secure support and resources for Thomas Nelson.

Contact Us

To contact members of the College Board, write to the individual Board member c/o

Office of the President
Thomas Nelson Community College
99 Thomas Nelson Community College
P.O. Box 9407
Hampton, Virginia 23670

  • Mr. Michael F. Kuhns, Chair
  • Dr. Vince Warren, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Gregory T. DeCinque, College Board Secretary, Interim President
  • Ms. Erica S. Charity, Administrative Assistant