Student Government Association | Thomas Nelson Community College

Student Government Association

Pictured: 2020-2021 SGA Members and Advisors

The Student Government Association (SGA) represents the interests of all students at Thomas Nelson and includes students from the Hampton and Historic Triangle campuses. SGA officers and representatives serve on college committees, oversee student clubs and organizations, represent student concerns, and work with Student Life and Leadership to provide services and activities for students. 

SGA Campus Offices

  • Hampton campus, Griffin Hall, Room 223
  • Historic Triangle campus (Williamsburg), Room 106B




  • President - Zee Cherry
  • Vice President, Hampton Campus - Priya Patel
  • Vice President, Williamsburg Campus - Vacant
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Crystal Ennin
  • Speaker of the Student Senate - Vacant

Student Senate:

  • Historic Triangle (Williamsburg) Campus Senators  (3 Representatives)
  • Hampton Campus Senators  (12 Representatives)

SGA elections are held in the spring of each academic year. Vacancies are filled as needed.



SGA Meetings

Join the Student Government Association (SGA) meeting with the Student Senate and Executive Officers to discuss upcoming events and issues that impact Thomas Nelson students on our campuses and within our communities. The SGA is the "Voice of the Students" so please take advantage of the opportunity to get your voice heard!

SGA Meetings dates and times have changed for the spring semester to the first and third Tuesdays (instead of Fridays) at 4:15 pm on Zoom.

We invite and welcome all students!

Join the SGA Zoom Meeting:

Meeting ID: 881 0706 1888
Passcode: 865313

Spring Semester Meetings:   

January 18         4:15 pm

February  1        4:15 pm 

February 15       4:15 pm

March 1             4:15 pm

March  15          4:15 pm

April  5               4:15 pm

April  19             4:15 pm

May  3               4:15 pm


Fall Semester Meetings:

October 1           12:30 pm

October 15         12:30 pm

November 5       12:30 pm

November 19     12:30 pm

December 7        4:30 pm



Standing Committees:

Ad-Hoc Committees:

  • SGA - Budget Committee  (2 Positions) 
  • SGA - Events Committee



Thomas Nelson is committed to shared decision-making through broad participation in the college’s governance committees.  Each governance committee is assigned to the President or a member of the President’s Cabinet, and is charged with reviewing issues, providing input, and making recommendations and decisions that ensure the effective operation and strategic advancement of the College.

We are in the process of recruiting student representatives to serve on each committee along with faculty and staff.  Your committee chair (or the appropriate member of the Cabinet) will be contacting you with information regarding meeting times and dates.  If you would like to serve on a committee please reach out to Kadisia Archer in the Office of Student Life and Leadership at

COLLEGE COUNCIL – This committee makes recommendations to the President on policy changes that enhance the College mission.

              Zee Cherry, SGA President (Represents all students)

COLLEGE ENROLLMENT TEAM – This committee develops a comprehensive, holistic, and integrated college-wide enrollment management plan while making recommendations for course scheduling, and student success strategies to improve access, processes, persistence, and completion.

One (1) student representative needed (nominated by SGA)/One alternate needed in case the representative is not available.

               1- Priya Patel

               2- Alternate:

COMMUNICATIONS AND MARKETING  - This committee provides a mechanism for college-wide input and engagement in the development and implementation of strategic communications and marketing plans to assist in reaching target enrollment markets and raising brand awareness.


CULTURAL AND SOCIAL AFFAIRS – This committee works to increase awareness and appreciation of the diverse populations found throughout the college community.

Three (3) student representatives needed (nominated by SGA, faculty, or staff; appointed by VPSA)

           1-Zee Cherry

           2-Deonate Smith

           3-Olivia Stith

STUDENT DISCIPLINE HEARING PANEL – The Student Discipline Hearing Panel members provide a slate of prospective members for the Discipline Committee as provided for in the Student Code of Conduct. Members hear appeals to Student Disciplinary Cases.

Three (3) student representatives needed (appointed by the Student Activities Coordinator)

               1-Zee Cherry

              2-Crystal Ennin

              3-Olivia Stith

ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE – This committee is responsible for recommending sustainability efforts for Thomas Nelson Community College, beginning with recommendations from the report prepared the previous spring.

Two (2) student representatives needed (nominated by SGA, Faculty or staff; appointed by VPFA)

               1-Sharena Marsh

               2-Jerrina Dixon

FACILITIES COMMITTEE – This committee is responsible for reviewing the College’s facility needs, to include:  capital outlay (major construction/renovation), minor construction, major maintenance and repair, and Americans with Disabilities Act needs.  The committee is also charged with monitoring the College’s health and safety standards and making recommendations to rectify identified problems.

Two (2) student representatives needed (nominated by SGA; appointed by VPSA)

               1-Jerrina Dixon

               2-Bethany Melvin

TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE - This committee is responsible for assisting in developing, reviewing, and revising the annual College Technology Plan. The plan will be aligned with Virginia Community College System and college strategic goals and objectives. The committee will also help establish priorities for the allocation of technology resources.

One (1) student representative needed (nominated by SGA)/ One alternate needed in case the representative is not available.

               1-Edwin Beaudoin

               2- Alternate:Bethany Melvin

PARKING APPEALS COMMITTEE – This committee is run by the Campus Police Office and hears cases for those who chose to appeal a parking ticket.

One (1) student representative needed/ One alternate needed in case the representative is not available.

               1-Zee Cherry

               2- Alternate:Bethany Melvin


SGA Constitution